Wambach and Altidore Lead U.S. Soccer Honors
Wambach and Altidore Lead U.S. Soccer Honors avatar

Soccer lovers, it’s awards season. So fellas go get that tux out of the dry cleaner and ladies here is your excuse to buy yourself that perfect gown.

And while we will have to wait until the year’s end to learn winners of the Ballon d’Or and the new Concacaf Awards, U.S. Soccer has trumped them both by selecting their honorees for 2013, led by Abby Wambach and Jozy Altidore.

Wambach celebrating her equalizer that took the U.S. to a penalty shoot out against Brazil. (Getty Images)

Wambach was once again crowned the Queen of U.S. Soccer. (Getty Images)

For Wambach, this award for U.S. Soccer Female Athlete of the Year, is an unmatched number six. Wambach won the award last year, while also claiming the Ballon d’Or as World Player of the Year. A testament to Wambach’s amazing career, is that the prolific striker first won the award 10 years ago. Wambach earned this prize in 2003, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2011 and now in 2013. 2013 was also a big year for Wambach because she passed Mia Hamm to become the leading international goal scorer of all time, she now has 163 and counting.

Jozy Altidore was once again the hero of the night.ISI Photos/John Todd)

Jozy Altidore will hope this award can lead him on to great things!.ISI Photos/John Todd)

Jozy Altidore becomes just the second player to win the Young Male Athlete of the Year (2006) before going on to win the Male Athlete of the Year. Not surprisingly, Landon Donovan was the first. Altidore scored 31 goals in all competitions for AZ Alkmaar, before transferring to Sunderland. The powerful striker also chipped in eight national team goals in 2013, including goals in five consecutive games.

Those eight goals tied for the U.S. MNT lead and are a career high for Altidore. Scoring in five straight matches is a U.S. Men’s national team record.

Will Trapp (L) was part of the 2013 U.S. World Cup Team. (ISI Photos/TURKPIX)

Will Trapp (L) was part of the 2013 U.S. World Cup Team. (ISI Photos/TURKPIX)

Wil Trapp picked up the Young Male Athlete of the Year award for his work with the U20 team, while also earning 15 starts for the Columbus Crew.

Young Female Athlete of the Year Lindsey Horan should also be up for some sort of a pioneer award. The 19 year old is the youngest American female professional player, and the first to skip college to sign with a professional league in Europe. Horan elected to sign with Paris Saint-Germain, and her success could lead other talented players to consider forgoing the traditional college route to the pro’s and the U.S. national team.

Horan surprized many when she chose to turn professional and bypass a college scholarship. (ISI Photos/Brad Smith)

Horan surprized many when she chose to turn professional and bypass a college scholarship. (ISI Photos/Brad Smith)

Horan was clearly not overwhelmed by the jump to the paid ranks, accounting for 22 goals in 27 games for PSG. Horan is a key member of the U.S. U20 team and is expected to lead the U.S. attack into the 2014 Women’s U20 World Cup. Horan has already made the full national team bow, having debuted at the 2013 Algarve Cup.

Horan is the first professional to win the U.S. Soccer Young Female Athlete of the Year, she is unlikely to be the last.

And congratulations to Rene Renteria who was named Disabled Athlete of the Year in the second year for the award. Renteria was the leading goal scorer on the U.S. Paralympic Soccer National Team in 2013, netting nine goals in 10 games. He was the team’s top scorer at the Intercontinental Cup and helped the team qualify for the 2015 World Championships. Felicia Schroeder won the inaugural Disabled Athlete of the Year in 2012.

Congratulations to all of the winners and Happy Thanksgiving from GotSoccer.

1984: Rick Davis
1985: Perry Van der Beck
1986: Paul Caligiuri
1987: Brent Goulet
1988: Peter Vermes
1989: Mike Windischmann
1990: Tab Ramos
1991: Hugo Perez
1992: Marcelo Balboa
1993: Thomas Dooley
1994: Marcelo Balboa
1995: Alexi Lalas
1996: Eric Wynalda
1997: Kasey Keller
1998: Cobi Jones
1999: Kasey Keller
2000: Chris Armas
2001: Earnie Stewart
2002: Brad Friedel
2003: Landon Donovan
2004: Landon Donovan
2005: Kasey Keller
2006: Oguchi Onyewu
2007: Clint Dempsey
2008: Tim Howard
2009: Landon Donovan
2010: Landon Donovan
2011: Clint Dempsey
2012: Clint Dempsey
2013: Jozy Altidore

1985: Sharon Remer
1986: April Heinrichs
1987: Carin Jennings
1988: Joy Biefeld
1989: April Heinrichs
1990: Michelle Akers
1991: Michelle Akers
1992: Carin Gabarra
1993: Kristine Lilly
1994: Mia Hamm
1995: Mia Hamm
1996: Mia Hamm
1997: Mia Hamm
1998: Mia Hamm
1999: Michelle Akers
2000: Tiffeny Milbrett
2001: Tiffeny Milbrett
2002: Shannon MacMillan
2003: Abby Wambach
2004: Abby Wambach
2005: Kristine Lilly
2006: Kristine Lilly
2007: Abby Wambach
2008: Carli Lloyd
2009: Hope Solo
2010: Abby Wambach
2011: Abby Wambach
2012: Alex Morgan
2013: Abby Wambach

1998: Josh Wolff
1999: Ben Olsen
2000: Landon Donovan
2001: DaMarcus Beasley
2002: Bobby Convey
2003: Freddy Adu
2004: Eddie Johnson
2005: Benny Feilhaber
2006: Jozy Altidore
2007: Michael Bradley
2008: Sacha Kljestan
2009: Luis Gil
2010: Gale Agbossoumonde
2011: Brek Shea
2012: Rubio Rubin
2013: Wil Trapp

1998: Cindy Parlow
1999: Lorrie Fair
2000: Aly Wagner
2001: Aleisha Cramer
2002: Lindsay Tarpley
2003: Cat Reddick
2004: Heather O’Reilly
2005: Lori Chalupny
2006: Danesha Adams
2007: Lauren Cheney
2008: Kristie Mewis
2009: Tobin Heath
2010: Bianca Henninger
2011: Sydney Leroux
2012: Julie Johnston
2013: Lindsey Horan

2012: Felicia Schroeder
2013: Rene Renteria

About Peter Nolan

Peter Nolan is a staff writer for the GotSoccer Magazine, covering MLS and other US leagues, He's GotSoccer's chief National Team Correspondent.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *