CONCACAF Names Venues for 2017 Gold Cup
CONCACAF Names Venues for 2017 Gold Cup avatar

CONCACAF has announced the 14 venues and 13 cities that will play host to the 2017 edition of the association’s regional championship, the Gold Cup, taking place across the United States between July 7 and 26.

The winner of the 12 country event can secure a straight path to the 2021 Confederations Cup if it also claims the 2019 title, if there should be a different victor, the 2017 and 2019 champions contest the CONCACAF Cup for the right to represent the region in Qatar one year ahead of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Mexico have continually proven their quality. (ISI Photos/JORGE MARTINEZ)

Both Mexico and the U.S. been seeded for the tournament. (ISI Photos/JORGE MARTINEZ)

Seven of the 12 nations have already qualified for the Cup and The United States and Mexico have been seeded with the U.S. topping Group B and Mexico leading Group C. The third-seeded nation will head up group A and will be finalized with the completion of the tournament field in January.

New manager Bruce Arena will be hoping to improve upon the dismal performance turned in by the U.S. under his predecessor Jurgen Klinsmann that saw the Yanks finish a very poor fourth in 2015.

The U.S. will have played four crucial World Cup Qualifiers under Arena by the time the Gold Cup rolls around and those results will set the tone for this U.S. coming into this event.

The Nissan Stadium(ISI Photos/Brad Smith)

The Nissan Stadium will host the Americans in their opening match.(ISI Photos/Brad Smith)

The Americans will open at Nissan Stadium in Nashville on July 8, before moving on to Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium on July 12 and will wrap up group play July 15 at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland.

El Tri will be in comfortable surroundings when it kicks off the tournament on July 9 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, before traveling north to Denver on July 13 for match two at the Sports Authority Field, finishing up play on July 16 before what should be a packed house at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The tournament begins at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey with a Group A twin bill on July 7. Four stadiums will make their Gold Cup debuts as the Alamodome, Cleveland, Ohio’s FirstEnergy Stadium, Nissan Stadium in Nashville, California, and Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

The Rose Bowl is tipped to host (ISI Photos/VICTOR POSADAS)

The Rose Bowl is tipped to host the knockout round games.  (ISI Photos/VICTOR POSADAS)

CONCACAF has tipped AT&T Stadium (Arlington, Texas), Levi’s Stadium, Lincoln Financial Field, in Philadelphia, the Rose Bowl, and the University of Phoenix Stadium to host Knockout Round matches.

The full Gold Cup groups and schedule will be announced next year. The 2017 Gold Cup will be broadcast in the United States on the FOX and Univision family of networks.

Here are the group stage venues and dates:

July 7, Group A — Red Bull Arena (Harrison, New Jersey)
July 8, Group B — Nissan Stadium (Nashville)
July 9, Group C — Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego)
July 11, Group A — BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston)
July 12, Group B — Raymond James Stadium (Tampa)
July 13, Group C — Sports Authority Field (Denver)
July 14, Group A — Toyota Stadium (Frisco, Texas)
July 15, Group B — FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland)
July 16, Group C — Alamodome (San Antonio)

Knockout Round venues (in alphabetical order by metropolitan area):

Bay Area — Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, California)
Dallas — AT&T Stadium (Arlington, Texas)
Los Angeles — Rose Bowl (Pasadena, California)
Philadelphia — Lincoln Financial Field
Phoenix — University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, Arizona)

About Peter Nolan

Peter Nolan is a staff writer for the GotSoccer Magazine, covering MLS and other US leagues, He's GotSoccer's chief National Team Correspondent.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *